Frenkie de Jong and Aitana Bonmatí, Barça Players Award 20/21

Frenkie de Jong and Aitana Bonmatí, Barça Players Award 20/21

On Tuesday the jury met, led by Ramon Alfonseda, President of the Association, and ​​Rafael Yuste, Vice President of FC Barcelona.

The players Aitana Bonmatí and Frenkie de Jong were the winners of the Barça Players Award 20/21, awarded by the FC Barcelona Players Association in recognition of the sportsmanship of the Blaugrana players at the end of each season. These awards were decided by the jury who met on Tuesday at the Camp Nou, based on the votes from more than 5,000 culés from all over the world. These votes shortlisted Messi, De Jong, Ter Stegen and Martens, Alèxia and Aitana as finalists for the awards.

Jurat Premi Barça Jugadors 2020/21

The jury highlighted the commitment shown by Frenkie De Jong (Arkel, Netherlands, 1996) to FC Barcelona, ​​the City and the country since he arrived at the Club in the summer of 2019. They also praised his humility, demonstrated by being willing to play in all the different positions that he was asked to play in.

The jury valued ​​the fact that Aitana Bonmatí (Sant Pere de Ribes, 1998) is constantly growing as a player and is an example for future generations of female football players. They also highlighted her words after winning the Champions League and being considered the best player in the final, in which she showed her sense of team spirit and her commitment to the Blaugrana, also recognised since her arrival at La Masia.

The jury also congratulated the attitude of the players throughout the season, in particular due to the fact that they had to play in empty stadiums and the internal management that had to be dealt with in the dressing room. 

Members of the jury, Barça Players Award jury 20/21:

Ramon Alfonseda, President of the Association.
Rafael Yuste, Vice President of FC Barcelona.
Xavier Puig, Head of Women's Football at FC Barcelona.
Anna Caula, General Secretary for Sports of the Generalitat de Catalunya.
Jofre Mateu, Vice President of the Association.
Laura Llinàs, Director of the Association.
Lluís Mascaró, Deputy Director of ''Sport''.
Sergi Solé, Editor-in-chief of ''Mundo Deportivo''.
Carme Nieto, pioneer of women's football at FC Barcelona.
Lorea Bakero, journalist for ''Mundo Deportivo''.
Ramon Besa, journalist for ''El País''.
Jordi Costa, journalist for ''Catalunya Ràdio''.
Marga Lluch, journalist for ''Ràdio 4.
Roger Pascual, journalist for ''El Periódico''.

Força Barça
Força Barça

Related to this article

Close article

Related to this article