Rakitic has played for FC Barcelona since the 2014/15 season

Ivan Rakitic has been named as the winner of the 9th Barça Players Award, the prize which is awarded by the Barça Players Association to the FC Barcelona first team player who has shown most fair play throughout the season. The award selection panel, who met in Barcelona on Thursday, 19th of July, highlighted his prudence, humility and easy-going nature as key values that he has shown since his arrival at the Club in the 2014/05 season. 

Rakitic was one of 6 players selected for the final, the finalists were chosen by Association members for the first time in the history of the Barça Players Award. After the voting period concluded, the other 5 players alongside the Croatia international in the final were Andrés Iniesta, Leo Messi, Gerard Piqué, Sergi Roberto, Marc André and Ter Stegen. 

9th Barça Players Award selection panel

The panel took into account sporting values shown both on and off the pitch | David Cuella / ABJ

9th Barça Players Award Selection Panel Members

Ramon Alfonseda, President of the Barça Players Association
Pau Vilanova, FCB Director who is responsible for relations with the Association.
Gerard Figueras, Sporting Secretary General.
Josep Llaó, Vice-President of the Catalan Football Association.
Tente Sánchez, Vice-President of the Barça Players Association.
Josep Lluís Vilaseca, former Sporting Secretary General
Sergi Pérez, Barça Players Association Director
Xavi Molist, Barça Players Association Director

Sergi Solé, Chief Writer for Mundo Deportivo
Ferran Correas, Head of Barça at El 9
Paco Latorre, Barça TV Director
Damià Abella, Barça Players Association member
Lluís Carreras, Barça Players Association member
Xavi Andreu, Journalist

Back to top